Blog Traffic Experiment, Day 15. Burning the Candle at Both Ends.

Day 15/30 of Experiment:  views 13
Main Referring Sites: 2 ImJustCreative, 1 StumbleUpon

Today’s Activities:

  1. Tip 2: Hello Tweet Deck
  2. Tip 7: Comment on Other Blogs

Thoughts out Loud

Okay, it’s official. I’m half way through and I’ve hit the wall.

Today I was at a conference and heard the guest speaker Stephan Danis talk about his marathon run in the Gobi desert. It was inspiring. Here is a guy who wanted to change his outlook on life when faced with the reality the business was about to get really bad. He chose what he called a crazy idea to “vaccinate himself” from the ugly that was to come. Not only did he train in just 9 months, he ran on behalf of people (executives) who were loosing their jobs to raise money for NABS. I found myself listening and realizing, I think that’s what I’ve been doing. I’ve been vaccinating myself.

The economy has been tough, and like it was for many others in our industry this spring was brutal on my business. I know that compared to some with bigger hardships, I’ve been fairly successful, but I’d be lying if I said it wasn’t hard on my moral. I was tired of feeling like I was at the whim of the fates, so I decided to give myself a test, I decided to take on this project.I figured if I shared what I was doing others could follow along and extract any information to help their projects too.

Which brings me back to the wall. Like the runner, everyone hits a point where they realize they are really tired. I hit that late last night. I haven’t posted much in the last two days, I haven’t followed up on LinkedIn forums, or added new ones. Today I sat back listening to Stephan describe how he’d deal with some of the curve balls he got, and realized I need to look at this from a different perspective. Yes I’m tired, so how can I use that?

Re-framing: I realized the amount of activity and tasks was wearing me down, then admitted I’d left off a couple things that can make some of these daily tasks easier. I kept hearing about TweetDeck, so tonight I downloaded it. Way easier! Saves a great deal of time. Finding blogs to comment on also became easier. I’m on the right track, two tasks simplified.

Today I spoke with someone who told me there is a resource out there that published to multiple platforms, sites, and blogs. I’ll be calling him tomorrow, time to cut down my posting time.

Burning the candle at both ends helps no one, much less me. So tonight that’s my contribution. My couch is waiting, Rock n’ Rolla is on Demand, so it’s time to treat myself to a veg out session.

Cool articles I found today:

  1. The five phases of Twitter’s evolution – and why they’re important
  2. 18 Resources to Help you Write Better Blog Titles
  3. 10 Valuable twitter Utilities for Business Users.
  4. TweetDeck not an article but where to download it.
Leave a Reply

