Blog Traffic Experiment, Day 5

Day 5: 17 hits
Main Referring Site: 6 LinkedIn, 1 RBKartworks

Today’s Activities:

  1. Tip 1, 5: I posted a call for submissions for my upcoming article “Great Blogs Designed by Blogers Themselves.” I posted it on my Blog, Twitter, DIGG, and LinkedIn

Thoughts out Loud

Alright, so based on today’s views I can begin assuming that traffic dips really low on weekends. Today the views picked up and it’s no surprise to me that the lions share of the views came from LinkedIn. This is a site I had really under utilized until this experiment, and as the days go on it’s a solid base for generating traffic and feedback. Okay, so I wasn’t a slouch by any means. Before I started all of this I had a full profile, testimonials, answered questions to gain expertise ratings, and had joined groups. But I never realized what networks I really had at my disposal until I started posting announcements and questions in the groups. The level of engagement in some of them is really impressive. People have been visiting, some send emails of encouragement, and some post comments. It’s very validating and I’m grateful.

I’ve noticed a very small amount of views coming form my business site. This hasn’t been the case in the past, so this new trend has my attention. I’m not sure how it’s happening, perhaps people on Twitter and/or LinkedIn are going to my site first then on to my blog.  I’ve noticed a larger number of people are beginning to convert their blog sites into their company site. When you combine the dynamic content of the blog with the ability to add the static pages for general information, it’s easy to see why so many have started to switch to the format. I’m definitely leaning towards doing this myself.

Leave a Reply

